Quick Links

Useful Links

Prestbury St Marys

Meet the Governors

Prestbury St Mary’s Federation Governing Board

The Governing Board, made up of unpaid volunteers, is dedicated to developing the Federation of St Mary’s Infant and Prestbury St Mary’s Junior C of E Schools to provide the best possible education for all the pupils.

The members of the Governing Board are from a variety of backgrounds and actively oversee and contribute to the leadership of the Federation through the processes of strategic planning; challenging and supporting the Executive Headteacher and ensuring financial probity, whilst always representing the interests of the two schools and those within them.

Under the School’s Instrument of Governance (2016) the Governing Board is currently made up as follows:

  • 8 Foundation Governors appointed by the Diocese of Gloucester
  • 1 Governor nominated by the Local Authority
  • 2 elected Parent Governors (vacant)
  • 1 elected Staff Governor and 1 co-opted Staff Governor (vacant)
  • 2 Associate Members
  • The Executive Head Teacher (ex-officio)

All Governors serve a four year term of office (with the exception of the EHT, who remains a Governor ex officio for as long as he is in post).


Governor type Name Appointed by
Term of Office start Term of Office end
Foundation 1 Michael Brick Diocese of Gloucester
01/09/2016 31/08/2024
Foundation 2 David Crompton Diocese of Gloucester 01/09/2018 31/08/2022
Foundation 3 Carol Gunn Diocese of Gloucester 01/09/2016 31/08/2024
Foundation 4 Emma Hammond Diocese of Gloucester 01/09/2016 31/08/2024
Foundation 5 Julia Martin-Jones Diocese of Gloucester 01/09/2018 31/08/2022
Foundation 6 & ex-officio Neil Penny (Chair) Diocese of Gloucester 01/09/2016 31/08/2024
Foundation 7 Ruth Rudge Diocese of Gloucester 01/09/2018 31/08/2022
Foundation 8 & ex-officio Fr Nicholas Bromfield Diocese of Gloucester N/A N/A
Parent 1 Vacant  
Parent 2 Vacant  
LA John Payne Governing Board
01/09/2018 31/08/2022
Staff 1 Joanna Dufficy Staff
01/02/2021 31/01/2025
Staff co-opted Vacant  
EHT Matthew Fletcher Ex-officio
Associate Alison Hopton Governing Board
15/11/2016 14/11/2024
Associate Fiona Hall Governing Board 15/11/2016 14/11/2024
Clerk Caroline Sexton Governing Board N/A N/A

 Committees and Working Parties

The Board meets six times a year and, in order to help it in its work, has set up five committees, as follows:

  • Curriculum Committee
  • Vision and Ethos Committee
  • Pay and Personnel Committee
  • Finance and Premises Committee
  • Admissions Committee

The committees meet regularly through the year and report back to the Governing Board on their findings and decisions.

Governing Board Membership of Committees and Panels 2020/21

Governors with special responsibilities:

SEND/Pupil Premium/LAC & Safeguarding:  Ruth Rudge

Early Years: Carol Gunn

Health & Safety: David Crompton

Assessment, Tracking & Data: Neil Penny

Declaration of Interests' Register


Full Governing Board minutes 2020-21

1 October 2020

Full Governing Board minutes 2019-20

24 September 2019

27 November 2019

Meetings were suspended from March 2020 due to Covid-19. Governors continued to stay in touch with school remotely.

Attendance Records

Attendance Records for 2020-2021

Attendance Records for 2019 - 2020